Maia Stefana Oprea

Births

Leave a comment

The first artwork of the „Births” cycle – the one that also stands for the title – is a self-portrait in shadow, also remains the most intimate one. Through its visceral feeling, its vulnerability. As a cry for power and of solemn weakness.

BIRTHS, mixed technique on canvas, 120x100cm, available for sale at 1056 EUR

BIRTHS, mixed technique on canvas, 120x100cm, available for sale at 1056 EUR

When I realised this project, I believed that the „Births” cycle represents a new age of my painting. In addition to what concerns the crystallization of my chromatic instincts and the dynamic compositions, it stands as a radical affirmation of an inner burning that descends into depth and comes from the depth. This inward combustion was meant to expose the interior through an explosion of the form. Therefore, I myself assisted at the birth of a language (extremely personal and intentionally without conceptual „air-bag”!): the form escapes from the empire of fantasy – that being from the „institution” of symbol ! -, unchaining a self-devouring confrontation with its own vitality. However, never devouring itself. I was looking for the restauration of an instant that cannot anymore organize oblivion.

In the introduction of the book „The Life of Forms”, which profoundly influenced me theoretically, Henri Focillon writes:

The old antinomies, spirit-matter, matter-form, obsess us with the same authority with which the antique dualism of form and contentis obsessing. Even though some slight trace of signification or commodity still persists in these antitheses of pure logic, whoever wants to understand what is happening in the life of forms must begin by liberating oneself from them”.

This specific time-frame (from a certain spiritual impulse to the impoverishmentof the formal matter resulted from the reproduction of this impulse into space) has been determined by the capacity with which I was able to freely movewithin the interior of this inner environment, imposing myself the abidance by a sincerity towards myself, that I consider being one of the most severe and tormenting rules of creation: intactly preserving the abisality of the primary sensation, by suppressing the tentation to repeat the form of that abisality through the same thematical variation on the respective form.

Although during my past I have taken on doing over certain themes or painting compositions, it is now the first time that a form has imposed as a profound obsession, giving rise to a life in motion, within a world that is transforming along with it. I must admit, it was hard for me to part from this obsessive form, but my wish was to immortalize the various development phases of something that could have represented a possible manner, thus hindering the birth of a formula, that is to say of a sudden interruption.

In the next posts I will show you my other works from the “Births” cycle. You can also download the pdf.version I have made for the exhibition of these works at Melenia Art Gallery (http://www.meleniagallery.com/)  in November 2011 :

BIRTHS

Author: maiastefana

Visual Artist portfolio: www.maiaoprea.ro/en available artworks: www.maia-fine-art.com blog:http://maiastefanaoprea.wodpress.com

Leave a Reply

