Maia Stefana Oprea

LUDUS

2 Comments

detail of Ludus II

“Charlie Chaplin once told Jean Cocteau that after the film will be finished <<the tree must be shaken>> in order to keep only what remains on the branches”. (Rudolf Arnheim, “Art and visual perception”, own translation)
The “LUDUS” project was developed during 2009 in an effort to ignore, in relation to the aesthetics, this principle of parsimony. It is also evidence of a certain age in my painting, an age at which I will probably never return. Age at which we want to eat all the apples and never shake one tree.

Ludus I, mixed technique on canvas, 60 x 90 cm, 2009, available for sale;
“Ludus I” has a more delicate story: I consider this work to lack “attendees”, because of its lack of chromatic “diplomacy”. What can I say? Nonsense. Aside from this, through “Ludus” I can speak, perhaps more autistic than in other works, of an age when you ‘fabricate’ childhood without ever realizing that you haven’t yet exhausted your own childhood…

Apparently a number of leading threads, of hidden stories, and yet no, the story never begins. In „Ludus” the only importance lies in the joy of storytelling.

detail of Ludus II

What unites these elements are precisely their differences in spatial planes, in artistic structure and in their intent of autonomy, thus generating a variety of irrational conflicts.

detail of Ludus I

As a mention, all these paintings have been realised after live models (including myself), and not after photographs. The models ranged from people I barely knew to friends I’ve known for a long time. During the painting sessions I have always asked them to talk a lot, thus their words highly influenced my figurative initial compositions. I thus consider these models to be secondary authors of these works.

LUDUS II
mixed technique on canvas, 70 x 100 cm, 2009

In the following posts I will upload more paintings from the “LUDUS” series. Stay tuned and let me know what you think !

Also, as some of you might have seen, yesterday I tried to upload a sort of interview form, in order to start promoting artists that I like. It didn’t work, but I’ll fix it asap.

Author: maiastefana

Visual Artist portfolio: www.maiaoprea.ro/en available artworks: www.maia-fine-art.com blog:http://maiastefanaoprea.wodpress.com

2 thoughts on “LUDUS

  1. Maia, would you say this definition translates to your notion of Parsimony.

    parsimony (uncountable)
    Great reluctance to spend money unnecessarily.
    By analogy from (1), principle of using the least resources or explanations to solve a problem.

    I quite like what you have done here.
    John

    • Yes John,

      This is what I am referring to, or as the Merriam Webster says > economy in the use of means to an end.
      I misspelled the word indeed, thank you for pointing that.

      Much appreciated !
      Maia

Leave a Reply

