Maia Stefana Oprea

old-sketches-2-r

Sibilants

4 Comments

old-sketches-2-r

HAPPY NEW YEAR 2013 !

During the last couple of years I struggled with an issue which may be concerning many young artists:

 WHAT SHALL I DO WITH ALL MY PAST SKETCHES,

DRAWINGS AND PAINTINGS ?  

old-sketches-1-r

Many years ago the answer lied in the garbage,
but I realised one can never be certain whether
a tiny sketch is good at all, or extremely bad ?

       I invite you to see two of the series of works made from such diverse sketches : 

COLLAGES OF OLD SKETCHES

  MIGRATIONS

     It took years until I could ‘sift’ my past drawings, while keeping them all in storage for future reference. Having the tendency to refer only to the quality of  a drawing, to its perceptual intensity, I had forgotten the importance of the memories which gave birth to all these sorts of life sketches. Although I’m generally more than happy to throw any object whatsoever, it became impossible to throw bits of myself filtered through drawing.

old-sketches-3-r

    It became so hard that I could not draw any more, since thousands of memories surrounded me. It’s been more than 3 years now that I haven’t had the desire or pleasure to sit and doodle. 

maia-cutting-r

      After gathering some stacks of the simplest sketches, I cut their outline and mixed them a bit just to show you what I’m talking about:

Many methods of re-using these sketches appeal to me, and I’ve currently started several projects in this direction. Stay tuned!

Author: maiastefana

Visual Artist portfolio: www.maiaoprea.ro/en available artworks: www.maia-fine-art.com blog:http://maiastefanaoprea.wodpress.com

4 thoughts on “Sibilants

  1. I love collage. I think the pieces where you incorporated your old sketches into new paintings are amazing.

  2. I repurpose my sketches as well.;) Enjoying your blog.

Leave a Reply

