Maia Stefana Oprea

Still Life II.2

LIFE STILLS #1

1 Comment

       It’s been a very intense week here in the village of Inoteşti, somewhere 100 km above Bucharest. Mothers ran from home leaving their children behind, youngsters drank ţuică to kill their toothache, dogs were frozen dead on the main roads, while I was discovering the realm of the unique and amazingly difficult technique of Watercolour, which I have very rarely approached in the past.

Gift #2, watercolor on Hahnemuhle Aquarellkarton, 17x24cm, 2013

Gift #2, watercolor on Hahnemuhle Aquarellkarton, 17x24cm, 2013

For the last couple of months I’ve been gathering stuff.
All kinds of stuff. Found, discarded, used, household electronics,  whatever life cannot digest and whatever bits of cardboard my stove doesn’t need to light the fire.
Still Life I.1

Still Life I.1

I’m aiming to close the gap between art and life using these  everyday materials to create new  forms and connections. But all it is, is form and colour. Just that, form and colour.

Still Life II.1

Still Life II.1

Still Life I.2

Still Life I.2

      This will be my on-going preoccupation until spring, when the project “LIFE STILLS” will be exhibited. While the artworks that will be shown at the exhibition will not appear on this blog (but on my portfolio website www.maiaoprea.ro/en) I will keep you updated with my progress.

       Here are some watercolors that are meant to be offered to some friends  :

Author: maiastefana

Visual Artist portfolio: www.maiaoprea.ro/en available artworks: www.maia-fine-art.com blog:http://maiastefanaoprea.wodpress.com

One thought on “LIFE STILLS #1

  1. Pingback: LIFE STILLS # 2 « Maia Stefana Oprea

Leave a Reply

