Maia Stefana Oprea

LIFE STILLS # 2

Leave a comment

see  LIFE  STILLS # 1

blue      Today was warm enough to venture in the studio, after two months of drawing in a tiny bedroom.

      I’m continuing with the “Life Stills” project. It’s    

     moving on fairly slow, for the moment I’m just

     cleaning, sorting everything out and waiting for the  

     spring art materials shipment to arrive.

blue-2

 bottles-1

      Mallarmé  said:

   “To paint, not the thing, but the effect  it  

     provides”.

I’m discovering that the more time I spend gathering, destroying, re-building and appropriating the thing I plan to paint, the more I am inclined to better reach in my paintings the internal line of these things and arrangements of inanimate objects.

A relation of physical and affective closeness establishes between myself and these decadent remains of the day (cardboard, boxes, tetra-packs, bottles, plastic, textiles, mnemonic constants…), which complicates the act of perception so much more.

As if these were bodily objects, an inform mass of meat that could turn alive any second.

still-life-03 pastel-still-life

cutting 5l plastic bottles and using them to fill diverse textiles

cutting 5l plastic bottles and using them to fill diverse textiles

some of my recenlty created objects

some of my recently created objects

still life 10

Author: maiastefana

Visual Artist portfolio: www.maiaoprea.ro/en available artworks: www.maia-fine-art.com blog:http://maiastefanaoprea.wodpress.com

Leave a Reply

