Maia Stefana Oprea

The Three Ages

Leave a comment

Back in 2012 I realized my first big airbrush painting, “The Three Ages”

"The Three Ages I", airbrush and spray on canvas, 210 x 135 cm, 2012

“The Three Ages I”, airbrush and spray on canvas, 210 x 135 cm, 2012

For this work I took as a starting point Giorgione’s painting ” Three Philosophers”.

"The Three Philosophers" 1508-09  Oil on canvas, 124 x 145 cm  Kunsthistorisches Museum, Vienna

“The Three Philosophers”
1508-09
Oil on canvas, 124 x 145 cm
Kunsthistorisches Museum, Vienna

During my visit to the Kunsthistorisches Museum, ( ten years ago, the first big art museum I ever saw) I remember being enveloped by the mistery of Giorgione’s depiction of natural settings, as well as with his immobile figures : “rather weightless, silent images, placed somewhat unspecifically in space, haphazardly related, as it were, to the landscape” (http://www.wga.hu/frames-e.html?/html/g/giorgion/various/threephi.html).

My interest in Giorgione’s painting continued to this day — especially of the “Three Philosophers” painting. My interpretation of the theme of the three ages of men offers three flat figures in rather different postures, very small and seemingly weightless, but yet imposing themselves to their surrounding.

detail of "The Three Ages I"

detail of “The Three Ages I”

Last month I made another small painting on this theme :

"The Three Ages II", acrylic, leather, nails, spray paper, glue on stretched textile, 2013

“The Three Ages II”, acrylic, leather, nails, spray paper, glue on stretched textile, 2013

A slideshow of the works in progress and details of “The Three Ages” :

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

“The Three Ages” is for sale on Artslant : http://www.artslant.com/ny/works/show/733678-the-three-ages-i

Author: maiastefana

Visual Artist portfolio: www.maiaoprea.ro/en available artworks: www.maia-fine-art.com blog:http://maiastefanaoprea.wodpress.com

Leave a Reply

